Skip to content

Rewriting app completely… halfway done

November 18, 2012

The woes I’ve had with PlayTo functionality made me want to throw everything away.  So I did.  I started over and rewrote the DataModel mostly from scratch.  It works much, much better now.  I think the issue people had with some episodes not keeping their data when selected manually will be fixed now.  The series selector works flawlessly, too.  (As far as I have been able to test it.)

Now that that is out of the way, I started working on the video player part.  I started simple… no controls, just a video screen.  Works!  Good… then I decided… what the hell, let’s see if PlayTo does anything at this point.  Imagine my surprise when it works flawlessly.  I can start the PlayTo function: swipe right to get devices then select PlayTo device (mediaplayer on remote computer).  It plays the video I started locally on the remote computer.  OK, so I navigate to another video while the first one is playing remotely.  I start the new video.  It starts playing remotely, too.  Ok, it works!  I’m dumbfounded because all of the documentation on PlayTo talks about using a PlayToManager, handling events, etc.  I wrote NONE of that into the app.  I guess MediaElements just work naturally out of the box.  Microsoft really needs to make that clear to other developers.

Ok, what’s next?  Well, I need to finish the controls on the video screen… and then finish the layout on the episode screen.  I was never satisfied with that.

Thanks for reading 🙂

From → PlayTo

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

